Thursday, 16 May 2013

FOOTBALL: Nigeria vs Mexico: Akpala Replaces Emenike, Yobo Still Out

Photo - Nigeria vs Mexico: Akpala Replaces Emenike, Yobo Still OutSuper Eagles coach Stephen Keshi has announced a 25-man roster for the upcoming friendly match against the Mexican national team on May 31 with Joseph Akpala of SV Werder Bremen coming in as the replacement for injured Emmanuel Emenike.
Michael Eneramo and Victor Anichebe had also been tipped to possibly replace the injured striker but Anichebe turned down the offer instead preferring to face his club career.
Joseph Yobo whom remains officially the team captain is still out of the system but the Chelsea duo of Mikel Obi and Victor Moses head the list of the European legion. The list was released to the public after Mikel and Moses landed in Amsterdam with Chelsea for the final game in the Europa League against Benfica of Portugal.
The match against Mexico will be played at the Reliant Stadium in Houston.

Nigeria, the current African champions, are preparing for two 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying matches in June before travelling to Brazil to participate in the FIFA Confederations Cup.
Apart from those in Chelsea, the list released to the media by the Nigeria Football Federation has two players based in the German Bundesliga; two from Serie A in Italy; two from the Scottish Premier League and two from the Portuguese Liga.
Odunlami Kunle of Sunshine Stars is the only player that is making the team for the first time. Mexico and Nigeria have met three times with a 1-0-2 record in favour of Mexico. The two teams last met in October of 2007, also in an international friendly, with the match ending in a 2-2 tie at the Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua.
Full List:
Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves), Austin Ejide (Hapoel), Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv)
Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Efe Ambrose (Celtic), Elderson Echiéjilé (Sporting de Braga), Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag), Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars), Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars), Francis Benjamin (Heartland), Odunlami Kunle (Sunshine Stars)
Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio), John Ogu (Academia de Coimbra), Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland), Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers), Michael Babatunde (Kryvbas Kryvyi), Reuben Gabriel (Kilmarnock)
Forwards: Joseph Akpala (SV Werder Bremen), Brown Ideye (FC Dynamo Kyiv), Anthony Ujah (FC Koln), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese), Kalu Uche (Kasımpaşa Spor Kulübü), Gambo Muhammad (Kano Pillars).


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...